© 2020 by ETCS-2020. Designed & developed by MSM.

Stellios Arseniyadis
Queen Marry University of London, UK
Doug Stephan.png
Doug Stephan
University of Toronto
Shu Li You
Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China
Indu Busan Deb_edited.jpg
Indu Bhusan Deb
IICB, India
Biplab Majhi.jpg
Biplab Maji
IISER Kolkata, India
Huw M. L. Davies
Emory University, USA
 U Tambar.jpg
Uttam Tambar
UT Southwestern Medical center, USA
Jennifer Love
The University of British Columbia,
BC Canada
Rajib Goswami.jpeg
Rajib Kumar Goswami
IACS, India
Ramananda Maity
University of Calcutta, India
Paolo Melchiorre
ICIQ, Spain
William B Tolman
Washington University in St. Louis
Pierre Kennepohl 
The University of British Columbia,
BC Canada
Suman de Sarkar.jpg
Suman De Sarkar
IISER Kolkata, India
Prasanta Ghosh
R. K. M. Residential College
Soumitra Maity.jpg
Soumitra Maity
IIT ISM Dhanbad, India
Mrinal Kanti Bera
IIEST Shibpur, India
download 2.jpg
Bidraha Bagh
NISER Bhubaneswar, India


Dr. Modhu Sudan Maji

Associate Professor

Department of Chemistry

IIT Kharagpur

Email: msm@chem.iitkgp.ac.in

Dr. Santanu Panda

Assistant Professor

Department of Chemistry

IIT Kharagpur

Email: spanda@chem.iitkgp.ac.in

We will be updating soon!!

 Main Sponsor


Sir J.C. Ghosh, the first director of the institute started the chemistry department in 1952. Ever since its inception, the department has established the tradition of excellence in teaching and research in various corridors of chemistry. The multifaceted research activities and state-of-the-art facilities, the department offers one of the best academic environments in the country.

The prime focus on the research activities is on basic and traditional areas of chemistry, relevant to societal needs. The major research encompasses interdisciplinary areas such as organic, biophysical, bioinorganic, bioorganic, computational, material, nanomaterial, organometallic, polymer, solid-state, and theoretical chemistry. The department presently has 31 faculty members.